Making Sushi for the First Time

I still have a lot to learn about cooking. Making sushi is one of those things I never tried before. Even though it was my first time I thought it went really well. My sister is the one who showed me how to make these sushi rolls, I even made two inside out rolls (I really thought that would be super difficult!) I enjoyed making this dish and would love to share with you how we did it.

Sushi on platter


Ingredients:

  • Sushi rice
  • Nori sheets
  • Tuna salad
  • Smoked salmon
  • 1 Avocado
  • Cucumber in stripes
  • Cream cheese
  • Sesame seeds
  • Other sauces, nuts, flavors you would like to add
Sushi bericht ingredienten
Ingredients: avocado, salmon, cucumber, home made tuna salad, sesame seeds.

After cooking the rice and cutting the salmon, avocado and cucumber in small pieces you can start making the rolls. We made pretty big rolls and used 1 nori sheet per roll. You could also divide 1 nori sheet in 2 equal pieces if you want to make smaller rolls.  I took 1 nori sheet, put it on a bamboo sushi rolling mat, and pressed a decent amount of rice on it. After the rice is pressed well you can fill it up. It is important to leave a bit of room at the top of the nori sheet to close the roll when you roll it up.

Rice pressed into the nori sheet and the filling in the middle of the sheet.
Rice pressed into the nori sheet and the filling in the middle of the sheet.

Pick up the bottom of the rolling mat with the nori sheet and fold it gently past the filling. Press the roll with the mat still on it. Fold away the mat and slide the start of your roll to the bottom of the mat again and roll it further. When you are at the empty top of the nori sheet you sprinkle water on the nori sheet to stick it to the roll and close it. Now you have finished your roll and can start with another.

Sushi bericht sushirollen
Sushi rolls just before I cut them into smaller pieces

When you are done with all your rolls you can cut them into smaller pieces. Use a very sharp knife for this!

Be creative with your filling and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Making Sushi for the First Time

  1. I love sushi! I love how you made so many different kids of sushi.

    I have to admit, I was curious about making it so made it once, but never made it again. I guess I’m just a little bit too lazy to make sushi. So many things to think of, it’s hard to get motivated when there are so many very good and affordable sushi places in my area. Do you think you will make sushi again?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it takes a lot of time! I liked to do it, but I don’t know if I would make it by myself. I love cooking with my friends and family and because this takes so long, I think it is perfect for these occasions 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

