Budget Recipe: Green Beans with Brown Rice and an Omelet

Green beans brown rice

It’s been a while since I posted a recipe, because I’m a little low on inspiration. Even though I’m still short on inspiration, I decided not to let it hold me back anymore.

Even if it’s not the most beautiful looking dinner there is, it sure tastes fine! So.. if you’re running low on your groceries budget give this recipe a try.


Ingredients (Serves two): 

  • 150 – 200 grams of brown rice
  • 400 grams of green beans (I used canned beans which means they were ready to eat)
  • 1 or 2 small onions
  • 1 big clove of garlic
  • 1 cube chicken stock (if vegetarian replace for vegetable stock)
  • 400 ml. water
  • 10 grams of unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 eggs
  • Saté sauce
  • Salt and pepper

How:

Follow the instructions on the package of the brown rice and cook accordingly. Cut the onions and the clove of garlic. Heat up the olive oil into a wok and brown the onion and garlic. Add the green beans, the 400 ml water, the butter and the cube of chicken stock. Occasionally stir and turn the heat very low. Add salt and pepper to taste. The rice and the beans will be ready in around 25 minutes. During this time you can prepare the omelet and the saté sauce. Break the eggs in a small bowl and clutch. Heat up a pancake skillet and pour in the mixture. Your omelet is ready if the top of the omelet is completely dry. For the sauce I followed the instructions on the package. I was in a hurry, so I was out of time to make it from scratch…

If you have a good home made saté sauce recipe, let me know in the comments! 🙂

Leave a comment